Wie have changed our URL - please change your bookmark to the new address www.dexa.org
10 th International Conference and Workshop on

Database and Expert Systems Applications 


August 30 - September 3, 1999


University of Florence
Faculty of Engineering
Via S. Marta, 3
50139 Florence, Italy

 The aim of DEXA 99 is to present both research contributions in the area of data and expert systems and a large spectrum of already implemented or just being developed applications. DEXA will offer the opportunit to extensively discuss requirements, problems, and solutions in the field. The workshop and conference should inspire a fruitful dialogue between developers in practice, users of database and expert systems, and scientists working in the field.






Suggested Topics

The main topics of DEXA 99 will include, but are not limited to:

General Chairperson:

T. Bench-Capon, University of Liverpool, UK

Publication Chairperson of the DEXA conference:

V. Marik, Czech Technical Univ., Czech Republic 

DEXA Conference Program Chairpersons:

 G. Soda, Unversity of Florence, Italy
A M. Tjoa, Technical University of Vienna, Austria

 DEXA Workshop Chairperson:

A. Cammelli, Italian National Research Council (CNR), Italy
R.R. Wagner, FAW, University of Linz, Austria

DEXA Program Committee Members:

H. Afsarmanesh, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
B. Amann, INRIA, France
F. Andres, NACSIS ,Japan
K. Bauknecht, University of Zurich, Switzerland
B. Bhargava, Purdue University, USA
J. Bing, NRCCL Oslo, Norway
J. Bubenko, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
L. Camarinha-Matos, New University of Lisbon, Portugal
W.S. Cellary, University of Poznan, Poland
S. Christodoulakis, University of Crete, Greece
B. Croft, University of Massachusetts, USA
J. Debenham, Univ. of Technology, Sydney, Australia
P. Drazan, RIKS Maastricht, The Netherlands
J. Eder, University of Klagenfurt, Austria
T. Eiter, University of Giessen, Germany
G. Engels, University of Paderborn, Germany
E. Fernandez, Florida Atlantic University, USA
A.L. Furtado, University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
G. Gardarin, INRIA, France
F. Golshani, Arizona State University, USA
A. Hameurlain, Université Paul Sabatier, France
I. Hawryszkiewycz, Univ. of Technology, Sydney, Australia
M. Ibrahim, University of Greenwich, UK
S. Jajodia, George Mason University, USA
Y. Kambayashi, University of Kyoto, Japan
M. Kamel, Naval Postgraduate School, USA
N. Kamel, City University of Hongkong, Hong Kong
G. Kappel, University of Linz, Austria
D. Karagiannis, University of Vienna, Austria
K. Karlapalem, Univ. of Science and Technology, Hong Kong
R. Keller, University of Montreal, Canada
M.H. Kim, KAIST, Korea
P. Klement, University of Linz, Austria
J. Kouloumdjian, LISI-INSA, Lyon, France
P. Kroha, Technical Univ. of Chemnitz, Germany
J. Lazansky, Czech Technical Univ., Czech Republic
T.W. Ling, University of Singapore, Singapore
S.K. Madria, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
A Makinouchi, Kyushu University, Japan
V. Marik, Czech Technical Univ., Czech Republic
G.Müller, University of Freiburg, Germany
M. Mohania, University of South Australia, Australia
J. Mylopoulos, University of Toronto, Canada
E. Neuhold, GMD-IPSI, Germany
G. Ozsoyoglu, University Case Western Research, USA
G. Pangalos, University of Thessaloniki, Greece
B. Pernici, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
G. Pernul, University of Essen, Germany
G. Quirchmayr, University of Vienna, Austria
I. Ramos, Technical University of Valencia, Spain
H. Reiterer, University of Konstanz, Germany
N. Revell, Middlesex University, UK
R.P. van de Riet, Free University, The Netherlands
C. Rolland, University Paris I, France
E. Rundensteiner, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA
D. Sacca, University of Calabria
R. Sacks-Davis, RMIT, Australia
M. Scholl, CNAM&INRIA, Paris, France
E. Schweighofer, University of Vienna, Austria
A. Segev, University of California, USA
A. Sernadas, University of Lisbon, Portugal
C. Shahabi, University of Southern California, USA
J.C. Smith, University of British Columbia, Canada
H. Sonnberger, European University Institute, Italy
B. Srinivasan, Monash University, Australia
U. Srinivasan, CIRO, Australia
V.S. Subrahmanian, University of Maryland, USA
O. Stepankova, Czech Technical University, Czech Republik
M. Takizawa, Tokyo Denki University, Japan
K. Tanaka, Kobe University, Japan
Z. Tari, RMIT, Australia
S. Teufel, University of Zurich, Switzerland
J.M. Thevenin, University Paul Sabatier, France
C.H. Thoma, IT pro, Switzerland
A. Tsalgatidou, University of Athens, Greece
A M. Tjoa, Technical University of Vienna, Austria
R. Traunmüller, University of Linz, Austria
K. Vidyasankar, Memorial Univ. of Newfoundland, Canada
Y. Wand, University of British Columbia, Canada
P. Wegener, Brown University, USA
G. Wiederhold, Stanford Unversity, USA
M. Wing, Middlesex University, UK
W. Winiwarter, University of Vienna, Austria
S. Zdonik, Brown University, USA


Information for Conference Authors:

Authors are invited to submit original research contributions or experience reports in English. Papers should be double-spaced and no longer than 5.000 words. A separate cover sheet must be included which provides the following information: title, name of author(s), postal and electronic mail addresses, telephone and fax numbers.

Authors are invited to send 4 copies of their paper to:

Prof. Dr. Roland R. Wagner
Research Institute for Applied
Knowledge Processing (FAW)
University of Linz
A-4040 Linz
Phone: ++43 732 244962
Fax: ++43 732 243989
e-mail: rwagner@faw.uni-linz.ac.at
All accepted conference papers will be published in "Lecture Notes in Computer Science" (LNCS) by Springer Verlag.


Papers due:

March 20, 1999

Notification of acceptance:

May 1, 1999

Camera-ready copies:

June 1, 1999

Conference Organization Office:

G. Wagner (email: gabriela@faw.uni-linz.ac.at)
Research Institute for Applied
Knowledge Processing (FAW)

University of Linz

A-4040 Linz


last modified: July 1, 1999